IIT-H and RIKEN-AIP Joint Workshop on

Machine Learning and Applications

March 15 and 16, 2019 at IIT, Hyderbad (India)
Contact: Vineeth N Balasubramanian (IITH), Srijith PK (IITH), Emtiyaz Khan (RIKEN AIP)
Information Program List of Participants



The goal of this workshop is facilitate collaboration between RIKEN-AIP and IITH. We are hoping to spend two days with many talks by members of IITH and RIKEN-AIP, as well as a few other distinguished invited speakers.


All talks will be in "Auditorium Block-A". Coffee/Tea Break + poster session will be at "Atrium Block-A". Lunch will be in Dining Hall/Skyfall. A venue for dinner will be announced at the workshop.


Guests from RIKEN will be staying at Oakwood Residence Kapil, Hyderabad
Address: Oakwood Residence Kapil Hyderabad, Hyderabad 500032, Tel: +91 40 66359999 |Fax: +91 40 66359900

Taxi from Hyderabad Airport to Oakwood Residence

We are making arrangements for this. The details will be posted here before March 13.

Visa Information

We have emailed information about the contact person's name and address, as well as how to obtain a letter of invitation. If you need a visa, please contact us as soon as possible. Most foreign visitors who do not require visa still need to fill the visa on arrival information a month prior to arrival. See more information here.


All talks will be in "Auditorium Block-A" and poster session will be at "Atrium Block-A".

March 15, 2019

  • 10:30-11:30 Coffee/Tea (Atrium Block-A)
  • Session I (Chair: Vineeth)
      • 11:30-11:50 Welcome and MoU signing
      • 11:50-12:10 Masashi Sugiyama (RIKEN), Weakly Supervised Learning [ Slides ]
      • 12:10-12:30 Tomasz Rutkowski (RIKEN), Brain Correlates of Task-load and Dementia Elucidation with Tensor Machine Learning [ Slides ]
      • 12:30-12:50 CV Jawahar (Invited), Computer Vision for Sports
  • 12:50-14:10 Lunch (Dining Hall/Skyfall)
  • Session II (Chair: Emti)
    • 14:10-14:30 Tatsuya Harada (RIKEN), Knowledge Transfer for Visual Recognition [ Slides ]
    • 14:30-14:50 Dinesh Babu J (Invited), Applied human behavior tracking and perception [ Slides ]
    • 14:50-15:10 C Krishna Mohan (IITH), Representation Learning For Action Recognition
    • 15:10-15:30 Vineeth N Balasubramanian (IITH), Zero-shot Task Transfer [ Slides ]
  • 15:30-16:30 Coffee/Tea Break + Posters (Atrium Block-A)
  • Session III (Chair: Srijith)
    • 16:30-16:50 Maunendra Sankar Desarkar (IITH), Event Recommendation from Social Media [ Slides ]
    • 16:50-17:10 Chao Li (RIKEN), Reshuffled Tensor Decomposition and Exact Recovery of Low-rank Components
    • 17:10-17:30 Sparsh Mittal (IITH), Hardware Acceleration of Autonomous Driving
    • 17:30-17:50 Jill-Jênn Vie (RIKEN), Knowledge Tracing Machines: Predicting and Optimizing Human Learning [ Slides ]
  • 18:30-20:00 Dinner and Networking (Lawns)

March 16, 2019

  • Session IV (Chair: Masashi)
      • 10:00-10:20 Chandra Sekhar Seelamantula (Invited), TBD (Deep Learning, Signal Processing)
      • 10:20-10:40 K Sri Rama Murty (IITH), Unsupervised Speech Signal-to-Symbol Transformation for Zero Resource Speech Processing
      • 10:40-11:00 Sumohana C (IITH), Generating Image Distortion Maps Using Convolutional Autoencoders with Application to No Reference Image Quality Assessment [ Slides ]
    • 11:00-11:50 Coffee/Tea Break + Posters (Atrium Block-A)
    • Session V (Chair: Sumohana)
        • 11:50-12:10 Piyush Rai (Invited), Probabilistic Models for Zero-Shot Learning
        • 12:10-12:30 Emtiyaz Khan (RIKEN), Fast Computation of Uncertainty in Deep Learning [ Slides ]
        • 12:30-12:50 Srijith PK (IITH), Convolutional Deep Gaussian Processes
    • 12:50-14:10 Lunch (Dining Hall/Skyfall)
    • Session VI (Chair: Tomasz)
      • 14:10-14:30 Osamu Sakura (RIKEN), Cultural aspects of public attitudes towards AI/robot
      • 14:30-14:50 Shantanu Desai (IITH), Statistics, Data mining and machine learning in Astrophysics [ Slides ]
      • 14:50-15:10 Hiromi Arai (RIKEN), Privacy-preserving Anomaly Detection
      • 15:10-15:30 Workshop Organizers (Chair: Emti), Organizers' Summary and Collaboration Action Items
    • 15:30-16:30 High-Tea + Networking
    • 18:00-20:00 Networking dinner (Optional)

List of Participants

RIKEN-AIP (names in no particular order)

  1. Masashi Sugiyama (Weakly supervised learning)
  2. Tomasz Rutkowski (Brain-computer interface; ML for signal processing)
  3. Bahareh Kalantar (ML for disaster application)
  4. Dinesh Singh (Scalable ML, computer vision)
  5. Chao Li (Matrix/Tensor factorization and linear inverse problem)
  6. Ming Hou (tensor decomposition for deep multitask learning)
  7. Ryuichiro Hataya (Deep meta learning)
  8. Osamu Sakura (cultural and social studies of AI/robotics)
  9. Tanuj Aasawat (HPC, large scale graph processing)
  10. Anand Subramanian (Bayesian deep learning)
  11. Isao Ishikawa (Dynamical system, RKHS, machine learning)
  12. Tatsuya Harada (Computer Vision)
  13. Jill-Jênn Vie (Matrix factorization, deep generative models, educational data mining)
  14. Masahiro Ikeda (Spectral clustering, Dynamical system, Machine learning)
  15. Emtiyaz Khan (Approximate Bayesian Inference, Bayesian deep learning)


  1. C Krishna Mohan (Video Analytics)
  2. Vineeth N Balasubramanian (Machine Learning, Deep Learning, Causality)
  3. Srijith P. K. (Bayesian learning, Inference techniques, Gaussian processes)
  4. K Sri Rama Murty (Acoustic impulse response, Independent component analysis)
  5. Sumohana S. (No reference image quality assessment, Autoencoders, Distortion maps)
  6. Maunendra Sankar Desarkar (Information Retrieval, data mining)
  7. Sparsh Mittal (architectures for machine learning, neural network accelerators )
  8. Shantanu Desai (Astrophysical data analysis)

Invited Speakers

  1. Dinesh Babu Jayagopi (IIIT Bangalore, India)
  2. Chandra Sekhar Seelamantula (IISc Bangalore, India)
  3. Piyush Rai (IIT Kanpur, India)
  4. C.V. Jawahar (IIIT Hyderabad, India)